Project Sue

This is a two-part experiment in providing some accountability for myself as I explore activities that I enjoy. I am not claiming that I will uncover an amazing hidden talent lying under years of neglect. I don’t know if anyone will be interested in my personal journey to experience the things I enjoy and to learn or if, in essence, I’m just talking to myself. Like I said, this is an experiment, so here goes…

Part 1: Drawing

I went to a small, liberal arts college and in an attempt to produce well-rounded individuals in the span of 4 years, all students were required to take an art class. Well, knowing (from 10 years of piano lesson and singing in school choruses) that music wasn’t an artistic option for myself, I decided to step out of my comfort zone and take a drawing class. I was a fish out of water, a biology/psychology major taking a drawing class in a very artsy school, and I loved it! I loved my art classes in high school (shh… don’t tell anyone) and this college art course really introduced me to techniques that I felt I could do, and I didn’t think turned out half bad. In this part of my journey, I’m going to work through “Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain” by Betty Edwards. I am hoping that at the end of this, I will have honed my skills enough to enjoy drawing as a hobby and perhaps feel confident enough to share my drawings with other without making their eyes bleed.

Part 2: Cooking

I love to cook! I love making something delicious and sharing it with people that I love (I know, how cheesy does that sound?). I am a die-hard fan of “Top Chef”, I never miss an episode. I have collected a small collection of various cook books, mostly as gifts from family and friends encouraging me to continue cooking, that I have read from cover to cover, but have not made the recipes within. What a waste! To read recipes, study the pictures, and then put it on the shelf without attempting to make it? No more! I am going to start cooking those recipes that I’ve collected in the “someday” folder. I’m going to keep track of what I make, how I like it, and perhaps even reviews I get from my family.

Now, I need to go and find that first, perfect recipe with which to start my journey of self-discovery… Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

