Dinner #1

What I made:

Chilled Sweet Corn Soup with Mint

Recipe by Jamie Lauren, Top Chef Season 5

http://topchefseason5.blogspot.com/2008/11/chilled-sweet-corn-soup-with-mint-and.html

Ratatouille

Slow-Braised Chicken with Artichokes

Recipes from “Think Like a Chef” by Tom Colicchio

What it was like:

As I’ve mentioned before, I am a huge fan of “Top Chef” and have read both of my Top Chef cookbooks from cover to cover. The food looks amazing but definitely is a little intimidating. But I was so excited about starting this experiment, and felt so energized, I decided to take on some Top Chef recipes. Not only did I take on one recipe, I decided to make three recipes I’d never made before! I wasn’t sure what I was getting myself into, but I was excited. I settled on a nice cold soup, which is perfect for this hot weather, and I thought I’d take on some recipes by Top Chef head judge, Tom Colicchio. The pictures made the food look so delicious, I was just excited to make the food!

The first obstacle Friday was grocery shopping. I was pleasantly surprised to find an area in the grocery store that had fresh, locally grown veggies, and was able to get most of what I needed right there. I figured this was the point of no return. Once I bought the ingredients, I had to make this meal. Once the boys were down for a nap, I started the prep. Six hours of chopping, braising, simmering, browning, blending followed. I was a woman on a mission. I didn’t get tired. I didn’t get frazzled. I had a plan in my mind for how to accomplish this, and the hours flew by. I never looked at the clock (probably because the oven clock was constantly being used as a timer, so I didn’t have a clock in the kitchen). Ben was coming home, and miraculously, I managed to get all three components completed and looking good by the time he arrived. How that happend? I have no idea, but I was proud.

It felt so good to have made this meal. I felt like I had found a directed purpose for my day. I had something that I needed to accomplish. And it was empowering. I was able to juggle the boys, and the chaos in the kitchen, and I was calm, cool, and collected. Something happened on Friday, that I wasn’t expecting. This may be cheesy, but I have to say it. I felt whole. I felt like not only was I doing something for my family, but now there was something I was doing just for me. And I think that makes me better for my kids and husband. We’ll see if this feeling lasts, this may just be the honeymoon period for me and my blog. But for now, I’m going to go with this feeling.

I’ve never taken pictures of what I’ve cooked, but in an effort to make this blog more interesting, I went ahead and tried to do my best to capture different parts of this meal. Another added bonus, I’m actually going to learn to take good pictures (I hope).

Приятного аппетита! (That’s Russian, for Bon Appetit!)

One thought on “Dinner #1

  1. Pingback: Oldies and Newbies « Reconstructing Sue

Leave a Reply

