Dinner #2

What I made:

Halibut with Zucchini Salsa Verde

Bon Appetit, August 2010

Burnt Broccoli

 

So, I’ve been reading and hearing a lot about “Meatless Mondays”. Ok, let’s be honest, I’ve been hearing a lot of chefs and celebrities talk about “Meatless Mondays”. I always thought it was a great idea, and wanted to try it. But, it got complicated when our little man developed an allergy to all seafood. Suddenly, all those easy to cook staples, like shrimp, were no longer an option. Fish. That’s all we could eat. So, “Meatless Mondays” fell by the wayside. Until last night…

This weekend, our friends M and D came to visit, and we had a great time! M and I were able to go out to a girl’s lunch and then go shopping. When we were at lunch M ordered the appetizer burnt broccoli. Well, when I tried it, I fell in love! I decided I had to try and replicate that dish at home.

I was in the mood to make another dinner for the blog, and decided to try making a fish recipe. So, I made halibut with zucchini salsa verde and burnt broccoli. So, I really only used the recipe to make the salsa verde which came out delicious! It would be perfect to eat with tostitos while sipping a margarita too. The burnt broccoli I made without a recipe, and was just winging it. When M and I were shopping we went to Sur la Table, and this simple dinner gave me a chance to play with every new kitchen gadget I bought.

The dinner was nice and light, and our little man was super excited to eat fish. I’m noticing that the more I cook, the more he loves to sit and eat dinner with us, and is excited about different kids. Ben loves broccoli and would eat it in any form. His biggest complaint was that I didn’t make enough. He also couldn’t believe that the salsa verde was made with zucchini! I didn’t make the halibut, I used swai, and just seasoned it with Old Bay Seasoning, spritzed some olive oil, and baked it. Here’s my recipe for burnt broccoli, which will be making many future appearances on our dinner table:

BURNT BROCCOLI
1 bunch broccoli, use only the florets
1/4-1/2 head of garlic, chopped
Extra-virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Pre-heat the oven to 400. Toss the broccoli with the garlic and just enough olive oil to coat the broccoli. Lay out on a baking sheet in a single layer, sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste and bake for 30 mins, or until broccoli begins to brown. Delicious!

Приятного аппетита!

20110802-021642.jpg

One thought on “Dinner #2

Leave a Reply

