What’s your comfort food?

Yes, I will readily admit that I am one of those women who feeds her emotions. I use food to celebrate, to grieve, to get through the tough times, and to reconnect with people I love. Yes, of course there are those comfort food staples – junk food! Sometimes the craving is overwhelming to get take out, to eat chips, and just go for what’s easy. But to me, really, comfort food is really that food that you make, that you don’t need a recipe to cook, that you’ve grown up with, and love to eat any time of day or any time of year.

Last night we needed some comfort food. It was a long, rough week, and we needed something to help us make it to Friday. So, I dusted off my comfort food index (in my brain) and pulled together a couple of staples that always hit the spot. I made a garlic-marinated pork, and asparagus with hollandaise sauce. The pork is really easy and fun to make. It’s all based on how much garlic you like/want, and you just cook it in the oven until it’s ready. I have found an easy blender-hollandaise recipe. This is my go to when I don’t want to be too fancy with the double-boiler (which I’ve still got to acquire for my kitchen). This meal just provides the comforts of home, the tastes my mom raised me with, and is my way of showing my love for my husband and children. This is my attempt to wrap them in warmth and protect them from the inside.

Приятного аппетита!

Garlic-marinated Pork

Pork shoulder or Pork butt (with the fat trimmed off as much as possible)

1 head of garlic, minced (or more, depending on how big the pork is and how much garlic you like)

Salt and pepper to taste

1/4 to 1/2 cup white wine

Pre-heat the oven to 350. Combine the garlic, salt, and pepper. Using a knife, stab holes into the pork in different places, at different angles, and stuff these holes with the garlic/salt/pepper mixture. Rub the top, bottom, and sides of the pork with the garlic, and place into a greased baking pan. Pour the white wine over the pork. This can be made up to a day ahead. The longer it marinates, the tastier it is, so I always try to give it at least a couple hours to marinate. Bake until the meat is cooked all the way through, time varies according to size of meat. Let it sit for 5 minutes, and then slice and enjoy!

Blender Hollandaise

1/4cup (1/2 stick) of unsalted butter

1 large egg yolk

1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice

Pinch of cayenne pepper

Pinch of salt

In a small pot, melt butter and cook until slightly bubbling. In the blender, combine the egg yolk, lemon juice and cayenne pepper, pulse a few times. While the blender is running, slowly pour in hot and melted butter. Season with a pinch of salt. If the sauce is thicker than you like, add a little water and blend to the consistency you like. Use immediately.

3 thoughts on “What’s your comfort food?

  1. I so understand your point about emotionally relating to food. Thanks for your post. I’m new to blogging but really enjoyed reading your story. If you ever have time, I’d appreciate it if you could check out my blog as I’m fairly new to connecting with the blogging community. Look forward to your next posts. http://thebigfatnoodle.com

Leave a Reply

