Tasty Thievery

I am not a culinary genius. My mother often comes home after going out to dinner with plans on how to recreate a dish that she or my dad really enjoyed. I don’t really have this gift. I might be able to play around with a pre-existing recipe, but to create something totally from scratch, without a recipe to refer to? Well, it hasn’t happened yet… but I’m waiting!

Mushrooms may not be for everyone, and honestly, were an acquired taste for me. Some mushrooms I’m still working on acquiring. But for me, adding garlic and onion makes anything better. Well, my mom always made fried mushrooms with onions. It was simple enough, just toss onions and mushrooms and a touch of garlic into a saute pan and fry them until the mushrooms are cooked and it’s a big, brown, yummy mess. One time we went to a Russian restaurant and were served delicious Mushrooms Julienne. This is a gratin dish made with mushrooms, and they are wonderful and in some cream sauce, and covered in a layer of tasty, melty cheese. I definitely needed to go home and make this… immediately! But again, not being very creative, and knowing that sour cream is a staple in Russian cooking, I used my mom’s mushroom recipe as as base for my recipe for Mushrooms Julienne. It’s simple, and tasty, and is a decent replacement for the real deal, which I’ve learned is made with a Bechamel sauce. I’ve made both versions, but on a weeknight, when I’m looking for a veggie side dish, this is a good fall-back. At least my husband never says that he prefers one to the other. So, this recipe is my attempt to create a version of Easy Mushrooms Julienne.

Приятного аппетита!

Easy Mushrooms Julienne

Mushrooms (I prefer button mushrooms, but you can be creative), cleaned, and sliced

Onion, chopped

Garlic, to taste, minced

Sour Cream

Jarlsberg cheese, grated

Extra-virgin olive oil

Pre-heat oven to 350. In a large saute pan, heat some olive oil on med-hi. Add the onions and saute until they are soft. Add the garlic, saute for one more minute and then add the mushrooms.

The mushrooms and onions cook for a while, the mushrooms release a lot of water. You may think that you are burning them, but you're not!

These you should slowly cook the mushrooms and onions until the mushrooms turn dark brown and are fully cooked. Stir in sour cream, tablespoon by tablespoon until you have the desired creaminess. Remove from heat and put onion/mushroom mixture into a baking dish. Sprinkle the grated Jarlsberg cheese on top and bake in the oven until the cheese is melted.

Oops! I forgot to take a picture before we dug in! As you can see, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Serve immediately and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

