Spaghetti Squash: A success story

After my first failed attempt, I was not quite ready to give up on the spaghetti squash (read my previous post, You win some, you lose some…). Hurricane Irene was quickly approaching, and I ran to the grocery store to get supplies. Why I thought it would be a good idea to get perishable items, like fruits and veggies, knowing that our power might go out is beyond me. But there I was, staring at the spaghetti squash. I knew I could make something great using it, if I could just find the right dish. Eureeka! A stormy day, rain and thunder and lightning, and what better dish to make than one I know my boys (and that includes my husband) would love. So, I decided to make Kielbasa with tomatoes, onions, and peppers. This is an easy meal to make, and usually I would boil up some pasta to serve it over. But since we are trying to be low-carb, I have been struggling with an idea of how to serve this dish without pasta. Deep breath… I’m going to try this one more time, and I bought one spaghetti squash.

So, I prepare the kielbasa, which gets my little guy all excited about dinner. He loves kielbasa! And I know that getting him to the table will not be a fight tonight. I baked the spaghetti squash in the oven, and everything finished cooking at the same time; I timed it perfectly. In one big glass bowl I served the kielbasa, and into a second large glass bowl I scraped the spaghetti squash. And here is where I made my mistake. My son walked into the kitchen and saw me scraping the squash into the bowl. Now he knew that this wasn’t pasta, no matter how hard I tried to convince him. Oh, well. I served a little spaghetti squash onto the plate, and piled on the kielbasa, lots of tomatoes (because he’ll eat those) and some peppers and onions. He actually tried the spaghetti squash; he’s not a fan. My husband tried the spaghetti squash with the sauce from the kielbasa and was pleasantly surprised. The sweetness of the squash balances the saltiness of the sauce and kielbasa. And he even ate more than one serving! Success! Now, I’m inspired to try another dish with this squash. I am going to make my son a fan (or I’m just going to run out of ideas).

Приятного аппетита!

Kielbasa with Tomatoes, Peppers, and Onions

1 can whole tomatoes, coarsely chopped, juice and liquid reserved

1 loop Polish kielbasa, sliced into 1/2 to 3/4″

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1 large onion, sliced

EVOO

In a large pot, heat some EVOO. Add the peppers and onions and saute until they begin to soften. Add the tomatoes and the liquid from the cans, and cook for approximately 10 minutes. Add the kielbasa slices, mix together, cover and simmer on med for approximately 1 hour. This can be allowed to cook longer. The longer it all cooks together, the better the flavors will blend.

5 thoughts on “Spaghetti Squash: A success story

  1. Great job, Susan. I still think that if you let the little guy turn the squash magically into spaghetti by scraping it out himself, he will think it’s cool. I am definitely going to try this recipe, although I still love serving spaghetti squash as a meal just by adding butter and salt to it.
    But what on earth is EVOO?
    Geri

  2. Sounds delicious! Does your grocery store always carry that squash, or is it seasonal?

    I’d like to give it a try, although I’ve never been much of a squash fan. But we also cut back the carbs, and every now and then I really miss pasta. If I’m desperate I’ll cook up a small portion of the whole grain pasta (supposedly lower glycemic?) but it would be great to have a veggie substitute.

    • The grocery store seems to be carrying the squash right now. I’m not sure if it’s seasonal, because I never looked for it before. You should definitely give it a try, at the least because it’s fun and looks like pasta. I warn you that it is sweet, like all squashes are, so keep that in mind when you’re deciding what to make it with.

Leave a Reply

