Parmesan, Provolone, and Prosciutto… Oh, my!

I am committed to sticking with our low-carb diet. It’s working for me, and it’s working for my hubby. (Of course, I did begin cheat days on the weekends, but who doesn’t want to cheat now and then?)The tough part is that I grew up eating pasta, potatoes, and such as side dishes. The hardest part for me is to come up with side dishes for our meals. Starches are such an easy way to throw together a complete meal. What an evil food!

On the plus side of this diet? Cheese is good! Bacon (or in this case prosciutto) is good! Can’t really complain about that. I love to cook. I love trying new things. And I don’t want to bore the husband and kid with the same chicken dishes over and over. So, I tried making Chicken Breasts with Fontina and Prosciutto and I made Parmesan Peppers as the side dish. The chicken was tasty (even though I didn’t follow the recipe exactly). My grocery store didn’t have fontina cheese! The horror! I substituted provolone cheese, but still used prosciutto. I may have over-cooked the chicken a little, since the hubby came home later than expected for dinner. But it was yummy, and the sauce makes a great finish for the chicken. The parmesan peppers, however, were a great and tasty side! They were so easy to make, and made the house smell fantastic. The red, yellow, and orange colors also looked beautiful. I am looking forward to making this again, and making it for company to liven up the table. Now onto my search for the next great meal.

Приятного аппетита!

Leave a Reply

