L’Shana Tova

Happy Rosh Hashanah! My mother is the consumate hostess. A simple weeknight dinner in her house can require pants with an elastic waistband. Several years ago, I took over hosting Rosh Hashanah. This was a big deal for me, and I felt like I had big shoes to fill. I spent days scouring the internet for good, traditional Jewish recipes. The ones that were the most successful have become my traditional Jewish Holiday dishes. 

This year the highlights of my Rosh Hashanah dinner were baked brie, roasted yellow pepper soup with serrano cream, my brisket, and for dessert I made honey cake.

So to start… what’s not to love about a gooey, yummy, melty cheese in a buttery flaky warm crust? Baked brie is an indulgence. And I never have the patience to let it set! I always cut into it as soon as it’s done baking and all of the melty yummy stuff comes spilling out. Decadence on a plate. The baked brie was served with a greek salad, herring, mixed olives, and goat cheese.

The next course was the roasted yellow pepper soup with seranno cream. This recipe has become my specialty. The soup has a great smooth texture with a wonderful sweet pepper taste. The serrano cream adds the right amount of heat and sour to finish the soup. Beware though, the serrano cream can be pretty spicy!

The final course was my brisket with home made baked parmesan and garlic fries. The brisket was tender, and the fries were crispy. No one was hungry, but everyone had more than one serving of brisket. Even our little man had more than one serving of brisket, and he can be a tough audience to please.

Dessert was honey cake and coffee. Honey cake always makes me think of my grandmother. My dad’s mom always made honey cake; that’s the only cake I remember her making. The recipe is simple, but the sentimental value is priceless. All in all it was a successful New Year’s dinner, and a lovely time ushering in a new year with our family.

Приятного аппетита!

PS – Recipes to follow in another post

Leave a Reply

