Not quite Julia Child

Remember the movie “Julie/Julia” that came out a while ago? Watching that movie with my mother made me want to rush back home, and start cooking. What happened? I never quite kept that motivation. My mom has “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” but I don’t. On Friday I got the motivation to tackle Beef Bourguignon. I looked up some recipes, and went for one that called for red wine, and seemed like a good “starter” recipe. What can go wrong with bacon, and wine?

20111115-192545.jpg

This was a good beginner recipe. The meat was tasty, and all you need is a nice, small slice of fresh crispy baguette to soak up the juices. My first attempt was a success. I am going to progress to the more difficult and fancier versions. Perhaps I’ll dive right into Julia Child’s recipe. I also want to try Ina Garten’s recipe. I’m not sure how hubby will feel about me spending lots of money on the ingredients (brandy and wine) if he doesn’t get to drink them. But I’m sure that he’ll enjoy the yummy beef bourguignon.

Приятного аппетита!

2 thoughts on “Not quite Julia Child

Leave a Reply

