Not Your Everyday Potatoes

20111211-190052.jpg

Thanksgiving, my favorite holiday of the year. I look forward to Thanksgiving every fall. I love this time of year and I love that I know exactly what Thanksgiving will be like. We have so many traditions surrounding Thanksgiving. My mom hosts dinner at her house on Thursday. But when we bought our house, about 5 years ago, we started hosting a Thanksgiving dinner at our house on Friday. It’s so nice to be able to share this time with our families and invite everyone over to our house for a special occasion. Everyone is relaxed and happy, and we officially start the holiday season in style. I have some dishes that have become my staples for hosting Thanksgiving dinner, among them my roasted yellow pepper soup with serrano chile cream. My mom makes a fantastic turkey, so she brings the leftovers to my house, and I make a ham to add some variety.

Everyone knows that you have to have potatoes at Thanksgiving. My family isn’t big into sweet potatoes, and since starting this low-carb diet, when we cheat, we want to make it count. I decided to make gnocchi gratin with Gorgonzola dulce from the December issue of Bon Appetit. I have never made pasta from scratch and have definitely never made gnocchi. We all love cheese, and blue cheese is a crowd pleaser, so this recipe sounded like something that I really wanted to make. This required a little work, but was a relatively easy recipe for a first timer. The gnocchi turned out soft and tender. The sauce was creamy and flavorful. Everyone forgot about their diets! I will definitely be making this again.

Приятного аппетита!

Leave a Reply

