Making Good Memories

Let’s start with the basics. Hubby travels every week. Some weeks are crazier than others, but for the most part, the majority of the school week I am on my own with the boys. Between shuttling them to school, and after school activities, maintaining the house (as best as I can), cooking meals which never really feel like family meals with dad away, and running errands, things can get busy.

I am in love with our boys, and often am amazed at how happy and loving they are. They are each other’s best friends. They know that I am always there for them, but now they are learning that they are there for each other. They stick up for each other (and my heart wants to burst when I see this… even when they are standing up to me).

Then there are those moments that wash away the long day. The boys climb into my bed in their pajamas, cuddle close, and listen as I read to them. They let the day go, unwind, and relax before bed. Even when my husband is home, this is my time with them. This is what we share together because I do not always want to be the one making rules and disciplining them. There is plenty of time for that. I want to make sure that I am creating happy memories with the boys. I decided to read the Harry Potter books aloud to them, and then we watch the movies as we finish reading each book. I go all out on those family movie nights, creating a themed dinner and movie snacks. The boys look forward to it, and this is something that we will all remember forever.IMG_1248

Leave a Reply

